YouCliN Thesis Award

3 prizes per year for the best neuroscientific thesis

Guidelines for Application

  1. The YouCliN Thesis Award highlight the best neuroscientific thesis, already submitted, and accepted or defended in 2021/22 at a Swiss university. The total prize fund will be CHF 2000 (1st prize 1000 and two runner-up prizes of 500 CHF each).
  2. Neuroscientific master (MSc) or doctoral thesis (Dr. med.) that were already handed in during 2022/23 by students of medicine/psychology or medical residents are eligible. PhD theses are not eligible.
  3. Candidates can directly apply by our website from 11.04.2023 until 21.07.2023 (extended submission deadline) (see “application” below).
  4. Applicants are requested to fill in the application online form and submit a CV, a digital copy of the thesis, a motivation letter in English (less than 300 words, describing why the thesis should win the award), and a recommendation letter by the thesis supervisor.
  5. The winners will be selected by a nominated jury (2 YouCliN members and 1 senior member) using the following criteria: novelty, scientific methodology, relevance, motivation, and diversity.
  6. The award nomination takes places during the SFCNS Summer School in August 2023 in Bern.


The deadline is closed




We are very happy to announce the winners of the 2nd YouCliN Thesis Award. The award ceremony took place on 29th September 2022 during the SFCNS Congress in Basel. Our warmest congratulations to all winners!



  • 1st place: L. Šinka Lucia. (Zurich)
    2nd place: J. van der Linde. (Basel)
    3rd place: O. Zanier. (Zurich)



  • 1st place: M. Pistor. Immunotherapies and COVID-19 mortality: a multidisciplinary open data analysis based on FDA’s Adverse Event Reporting System (Bern).
  • 2nd place: J. Müller. Choroid Plexus Volume in Multiple Sclerosis vs. Neuromyelitis Optica Spectrum Disorder (Basel).
  • 3rd place: L. Meya. Anticoagulants in Atrial Fibrillation Patients with Recent Stroke who are Dependent on the Daily Help of Others (Basel).



  • 1st place: K. Prautsch: Ex-vivo stimulation of adipose stem cells by growth factors and fibrinhydrogel assisted stem cells delivery strategies for treating nerve gap-injuries (Bern).
  • 2nd place: P. Schmassmann: Combating Glioblastoma - Activation of Microglia by targeting CD47 and Siglecs (Basel).
  • 3rd place: C. Jenny: Change in cross-sectional area of the median nerve with age in neonates, infants and children analyzed by high-resolution ultrasound imaging (St. Gallen).